#Review #LastRequest by Liz Mistry #BlogTour @LizMistryAuthor @HQDigitalUK

I am delighted to share my review for Last Request by Liz Mistry with you today on Blog Tour. Which is out on the 16th October

When human remains are discovered under Bradford’s derelict Odeon car park, DS Nikita Parekh and her team are immediately called to the scene.

Distracted by keeping her young nephew out of trouble, Nikki is relieved when the investigation is transferred to the Cold Case Unit, and she can finally focus on her family.
 
But after the identity of the victim is revealed, she’s soon drawn back into the case. The dead man is a direct link to her painful past.
 
As the body count begins to rise, Nikki must do everything she can to stop the killer in their tracks before anyone else gets hurt – even if it means digging up secrets she had long kept hidden…
 
For readers of Angela Marsons and Helen H. Durrant comes a gritty new crime series featuring bold, brave and ferocious D.S. Nikki Parekh.

My Thoughts

Last Request is the first book in the series featuring DS Nikita Parekha. So I took this has the perfect opportunity to read my first ever Liz Mistry novel and it certainly doesn’t disappoint.

When we the story starts off with human remains being found underneath Bradford’s Odeon car park. Things take a turn when the body is identified and is linked to Nikki’s past. This is where things get really interesting….

I do have to say that the author throws a lot of characters into the story at the beginning which took me a while to get my head round. Learning who was who and who did what type of thing. I like a book with less characters is what I am trying to say. But once I got my head round this I soon found myself racing through the story to find out what was going to happen.

I actually grew to like Nikki I wasn’t a fan at first but we learn through the story what it is that makes her like she is. and I totally get her now.

I love the other chapters that are woven into the story ( I say other because you need to read it for yourself to see what I am talking about!) They add some gritty unconformable tension to the plot. Which is what I like in a story.

This is a good start to a new series which will keep you hooked from start to finish and keep you guessing until the end. I am looking forward to the next instalment.

Many thanks to Harper Collins HQ for a copy and for the blog tour invite.

About the Author

Born in Scotland, Made in Bradford sums up Liz Mistry’s life. Over thirty years ago she moved from a small village in West Lothian to Yorkshire to get her teaching degree. Once here, Liz fell in love with three things; curries, the rich cultural diversity of the city … and her Indian husband (not necessarily in this order). Now thirty years, three children, two cats (Winky and Scumpy) and a huge extended family later, Liz uses her experiences of living and working in the inner city to flavour her writing. Her gritty crime fiction police procedural novels set in Bradford embrace the city she describes as ‘Warm, Rich and Fearless’ whilst exploring the darkness that lurks beneath.
Struggling with severe clinical depression and anxiety for a large number of years, Liz often includes mental health themes in her writing. She credits the MA in Creative Writing she took at Leeds Trinity University with helping her find a way of using her writing to navigate her ongoing mental health struggles. Being a debut novelist in her fifties was something Liz had only dreamed of and she counts herself lucky, whilst pinching herself regularly to make sure it’s all real. One of the nicest things about being a published author is chatting with and responding to readers’ feedback and Liz regularly does events at local libraries, universities, literature festivals and open mics. She also teaches creative writing too. Now, having nearly completed a PhD in Creative Writing focussing on ‘the absence of the teen voice in adult crime fiction’ and ‘why expansive narratives matter’, Liz is chock full of ideas to continue writing.
In her spare time, Liz loves pub quizzes (although she admits to being rubbish at them), dancing (she does a mean jig to Proud Mary – her opinion, not ratified by her family), visiting the varied Yorkshire landscape, with Robin Hoods Bay being one of her favourite coastal destinations, listening to music, reading and blogging about all things crime fiction on her blog, The Crime Warp.

2 thoughts on “#Review #LastRequest by Liz Mistry #BlogTour @LizMistryAuthor @HQDigitalUK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.