#Review Boxer Boys Collection by Nick Rippington #BlogTour @nickripp @BOTBSPublicity #BlogTour

I am delighted to share my review with you today for Crossing the Whitewash (book 1) in the series

Some Family feuds just won’t go away… For 40 years the Dolans and the Marshalls have lived side by side on the same rundown housing estate in east London. While teens Gary Marshall and Arnie Dolan forge a close friendship, fighting constant battles to survive both on the streets and closer to home, the relationship between their parents is complicated and, at times, toxic. Gradually family secrets emerge which have their roots in the early 80s… and Gary and Arnie realise their entire upbringing was built on lies.  

My Thoughts

So first of all I have to admit that I ended up listening to this on audio and OMG what an audio it is, the narrator does a brilliant job of bringing the characters to life with the different accents. It made me feel like I was watching it on TV.

With it being the first book in the series we are introduced to the Gary Marshall and Arie Dolman who start the boxer boys gang. I personally loved JW he did make me laugh such a big character.

This book is what I calla grit lit novel and lives up to its name….it is gritty with a captial G. I love the fact that it is based around lads and football with the story making me like I was there with them.

This is a gripping start to the series and I can’t wait to read the next book Nick Ripplington is certainly an author to look out for.

Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers. Which I highly recommend

Thank you to Sarah Hardy for the blog tour invite.

About the Author

NICK RIPPINGTON is one of the victims of the News of the World phone-hacking scandal you never hear about. 

As the newspaper’s Welsh Sports Editor, he was made redundant with two days notice when Rupert Murdoch closed down Europe’s biggest-selling tabloid in 2011. 

On holiday at the time, Nick was never allowed back into the building, investigators sealed off the area with crime scene tape and seized his computer, which contained all the secrets to his Fantasy Football selections.

Handed the contents of his desk in a black bin bag in a murky car park, deep throat style, Nick was at a crossroads – married just two years earlier and with a wife and 9-month-old baby to support. Options were limited but self-publishing was booming. Having hit on an idea for a UK gangland thriller taking place against the backdrop of the Rugby World Cup, in 2015 he produced Crossing The Whitewash.

The book was praised by many, received an honourable mention in the genre category of the Writers’ Digest self-published eBook awards and more than 25 five-star reviews on both sides of the pond. 

Almost two years after Crossing The Whitewash came the second in the Boxer Boys series, a prequel called Spark Out, which was released in paperback on July 1 and for Kindle on July 10, 2017. The book received an award for best cover of 2017 with the Chill With A Book website, along with a readers award, before receiving the IndieBRAG medallion from a prestigious site covering Independent writers and publishers throughout the world.

The third book in the Boxer Boys series Dying Seconds, a sequel to Crossing the Whitewash, was released in December 2018.

Married to Liz, Nick is now a full-time back bench designer on the Daily Star sports desk and has two daughters – Jemma, 36, and Olivia, 8. A Bristolian at heart, he lives near Ilford, Essex. In the past he has worked for the Sunday Mirror, Wales on Sunday and Media Wales in Cardiff as an executive editor.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/buckrippers

Twitter: @nickripp

Goodreads Author Page:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14194075.Nick_Rippington

Blog: On the website – Say Hello to My Little Friends

Websitewww.theripperfile.com

Amazon Author Page in the UK

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nick-Rippington/e/B0135YST78

2 thoughts on “#Review Boxer Boys Collection by Nick Rippington #BlogTour @nickripp @BOTBSPublicity #BlogTour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.