Murder in the Fens by Clare Chase #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @ClareChase_ @bookouture

I am delighted to share my review for Murder in the Fens by Clare Chase with you on publication day…..you can grab your copy on the link below

When the body of twenty-year-old Julie Cooper is found – her pockets stuffed full of wilting flowers – in an iron-age hill fort on the edge of the fens, Detective Tara Thorpe and her team are called in to investigate. The evidence points to an illicit affair gone wrong… but is there more to the story? 

As always at the Cambridge Constabulary, the case turns personal. Detective Blake is exhausted after the arrival of a new baby with wayward wife Babette, and Tara is keen to put as much distance between herself and Blake as she can – both at the station and on the hunt for the killer. Charming rookie officer Jez is the perfect distraction… but is he a little too good to be true?

Then Tara makes a startling breakthrough when she finds an unsettling family heirloom hidden in the late victim’s bedroom – a golden statue of a sinister-looking cat with emerald eyes. As she traces its origins, Tara begins to realise that Julie’s murder is no one-off crime, but a sinister plot with its roots in a terrible secret that was covered up decades earlier.

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Joy Ellis. Can be read as a standalone.

The Tara Thorpe Mystery Series:
Book 1 – Murder on the Marshes
Book 2 – Death on the River
Book 3 – Death Comes to Call
Book 4 – Murder in the Fens

My Thoughts

Murder in the Fens is the fourth book in the Tara Thorpe mystery series, and what a mystery book this is! This series gets better everyone I read.

With an OMG opening when the body of Julie Cooper and that’s just for starters! I have to say I was hooked. The more I read the more I wanted to know.

The author does a brilliant job of dropping pieces of puzzle has the story unfolds. But I have to admit that the author out done me with my Miss Marple skills…..I had no idea who-dun-it.

Murder in the Fens is a light easy read, exactly what you would expect a cosy mystery to be. But it is also a well and truly addictive read….I couldn’t put it down.

I loved how the author has weaved the goings on with the characters personal life’s along side the investigation. Where we really do get to know them some more and really mixes things up.

Tara and Blake make a brilliant team who you cannot help but like.

This is a perfect Sunday afternoon read which can be read has a standalone, even though I recommend reading the series, if you haven’t already….it is to good a series not to miss. I have to admit that I am gutted to hear this is the last one in the series though.

Perfect for fans Agatha Christie fans

Thank you to Noelle at Bookouture for a copy and inviting me to take part on the tour.

BUY LINKS:

https://geni.us/B07Q36TPG8Social

About The Author

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available for pre-order and will publish in July 2018. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

4 thoughts on “Murder in the Fens by Clare Chase #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @ClareChase_ @bookouture

Leave a Reply to Shell Baker Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.