Perfect Remains by Helen Field #GuestReview

   Today my guest reviewer Deryl Easton shares her thoughts on Perfect                                                      Remains by Helen Fields


The Book


The first in a nail-shredding new crime series. Fans of M.J. Arlidge will be gripped from start to finish.

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness.

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

Deryl’s Thoughts

Well, this was a ‘killer read’ and certainly not for the faint-hearted! 

The author has created a serial killer so dark, and sinister it felt like I was in his presence while he carried out his sick and depraved acts on innocent women, which at points made me feel breathless and helpless for the victims. 

I was pulled in and gripped by this story, though, I do feel at times reading the small text was a bit of a strain, none the less the characters were believable, convincing and plausible. 


After reading the first in the series it has without fail left me wanting more!

Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Caroline Mitchell, and M.J Arlidge



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.