Murder on The Marshes by Clare Chase #BlogTour #Review

I am super excited to be kicking off Murder on The Marshes by Clare Chase  Blog Tour  on publication day with a 4.5 star review.

           
The Book

Do you love twisty murder mysteries? Meet Tara Thorpe – the clue to a puzzling local murder has landed right on her doorstep. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross and Joy Ellis.

As the sun rises, a wealthy young woman – Samantha Seabrook – is found drowned in the ornamental fountain of a deserted Cambridge courtyard, the only clue – an antique silver chain wound tightly around her throat. 

It’s Tara Thorpe’s job to discover what happened to Miss Seabrook – but the case becomes personal when she learns that Samantha had been receiving death threats… rather like the one that landed on Tara’s doorstep the night the woman died.

Together with Detective Inspector Garstin Blake, Tara tracks the killer to the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of the city. But there’s something Tara can’t quite admit to Blake about her past – and it could make all the difference to whether they live… or die.

An absolutely gripping page-turner that will keep you hooked until the very last page. The first in a series of unputdownable Cambridge mysteries featuring Thorpe and Blake.


My Thoughts

I was super excited to hear that Clare Chase is back with a new murder mystery series…. having been a fan of her writing for the last couple of years and reading Clare’s previous books I couldn’t wait to get stuck into Murder on The Marshes and meet Tara Thorpe. I am pleased to say that the author doesn’t disappoint this is without a doubt her best book to date….I was hooked from start to finish.   

Clare does a brilliant job of setting the scene in Cambridge where we follow Tara and Detective Inspector Garstin Blake on a case to track the killer down after the body of Samantha Seabrook is found downed. 

I love Clare’s style of writing, which is atmospheric and beautifully written. She really makes me feel like I am in the story with her stunning descriptions. After reading this visiting Cambridge is definitely on my bucket list.

This story is what I call an easy read that moves at a steady pace.and reminds me of Agatha Christie.Grabbing me straight from the starts Clare builds up the suspense dropping clues out to build the pieces of the jigsaw, which will keep you guessing until the very end.

Tara and Garstin make a brilliant team and I am looking forward to getting to know them more in the next story. I have a feeling this is going to be one hell of a series.

Murder on the Marsh is a perfect gripping who-dunnit story, fans of LR Ross will love it…. Which I highly recommend giving it 4,5 stars

Thank you to Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this fab tour.




Author Bio:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available for pre-order and will publish in July 2018. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.